Tuesday, 12 June 2012

The 5 Love Languages

The Five Love Languages is a wonderful book. Essentially, Gary Chapman highlights the different love languages and helps us to discover which belong to us. It opens our eyes to see how everyone expresses and receives love in various ways. With this knowledge, there will be less misunderstandings, fights and bitter squabbles.

My prayer for you is that you and your partner can take some time to do a short quiz (I've provided the link below) and understand each other’s love languages.

Just because someone doesn't love you the way you want them to, doesn't mean they don't love you.

Now you must be wondering- so what are the five different love languages?
Here's a lil summary of them :)

Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love
language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the
words, “I love you,” are important—hearing the reasons behind that love
sends your spirits skyward. Insults can leave you shattered and are not
easily forgotten.

In the vernacular of Quality Time, nothing says, “I love you,” like
full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is
critical, but really being there—with the TV off, fork and knife down,
and all chores and tasks on standby—makes your significant other feel
truly special and loved. Distractions, postponed dates, or the failure
to listen can be especially hurtful.

Don’t mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts
thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. If you
speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are
known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was
sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday, anniversary, or a
hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous—so would the absence of
everyday gestures.

Can vacuuming the floors really be an expression of love? Absolutely!
Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an
“Acts of Service” person will speak volumes. The words he or she most
want to hear: “Let me do that for you.” Laziness, broken commitments,
and making more work for them tell speakers of this language their
feelings don’t matter.

This language isn’t all about the bedroom. A person whose primary
language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy. Hugs, pats
on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm,
shoulder, or face—they can all be ways to show excitement, concern,
care, and love. Physical presence and accessibility are crucial, while
neglect or abuse can be unforgivable and destructive.

You might roughly know what's your love language(s) after reading through the summary.
Confirm it with the quiz! Here's the link.
Do it with your partner if you can- it'll be fun! ;)
The questions are different for both men and women.


PS: Take it when you are relaxed, and try not to rush through it.

No comments:

Post a Comment